Set the IPMI power type to boot from a custom boot option rather than PXE

I am new to maas and would like to use it in a specific environment where each of my machines will be located on a different LAN from each other and maas, but they can all still reach each other.

Following the advice here, I created an iPXE iso to boot from, which I mount as a virtual media, this works great for commissioning.

After deploying the machine, maas sets it to boot from disk, but if I try to do a redeployment or anything similar, it will first try to PXE boot (which will predictably fail), and then just falls back to disk, which makes the deployment fail.

I tried to create a custom boot entry from an iPXE script, and was hoping that maas will pick that up after trying PXE, but unfortunately it did not, and it was just ignored.

Would it be possible to specify what boot method maas should use when redeploying instead of just falling back to PXE or is a completely different approach is recommended for this use-case?

A few more details:

1. I also tried to use HTTP boot which maas does pick up, but since I don’t have DHCP available, and my BIOS doesn’t have a method to configure a static IP, it fails.
  2. I am using a X11SPI-TF Supermicro motherboard.
  3. Just mounting the virtual media permanently is a no go as well since if the server will lose power even once it will have to be re-mounted manually again, and maas doesn’t seem to pick this up either.
  4. Creating a new boot entry from the iPXE script, and setting the server to boot always from that also doesn’t work, since maas will change the boot order back to disk on every boot (I am using Ubuntu).

Thanks.

Hi @roeeklinger60

Sorry, I’m struggling to understand some points

After deploying the machine, maas sets it to boot from disk

MAAS is not changing the boot order of the machine when it’s deployed