Windows VMs on MaaS, Ubuntu Host: How to import Windows image?

I’m new to MaaS, and I have a cluster of 12 machines running under control of MaaS 2.6.1. All machines are running Ubuntu 18.04 LTS.

I’d like to run some Windows VMs, and I haven’t been able to find information on how to create and import a Windows image. I’d also like to point out that this question has been asked on this forum a few times, without being answered: Removed since apparently new users have a links-in-their-post limitation

I have created a qemu Windows image, converted the file from qcow2 to raw, uploaded it to the MaaS head node. I found this article showing how to add an image, which provides this example:

maas $profile boot-resources create name=custom/$imagedisplayname architecture=amd64/generic content=@$filepath

I figured out that size= and sha256= are required extra parameters, and added them accordingly. However, I get an error saying str object not callable. I was sure to have the content=@path.raw, making there the @ sign was present, and tried the import command without it too, which provided the same error. Interestingly enough, content= is supposedly an optional parameter, but omitting it shows an error saying “Missing content”.

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/maas", line 12, in <module>
    sys.exit(maascli.main())
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/maascli/__init__.py", line 29, in main
    options.execute(options)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/maascli/actions/boot_resources_create.py", line 45, in __call__
    content = self.initial_request(uri, options)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/maascli/actions/boot_resources_create.py", line 66, in initial_request
    body, headers = self.prepare_initial_payload(options.data)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/maascli/actions/boot_resources_create.py", line 109, in prepare_initial_payload
    size, sha256 = self.calculate_size_and_sha256(content)