Set up MAAS for the first time

Hi, I was recently introduced to MAAS so I’m a bit confused about the best way to use it.
I have a task to do to my master thesis that required to make management and maintenance of 24 apu2c faster and flexible.
We want to build a testbed with these nodes, for this purpose I have to use MAAS to manage them.
First I installed both rack and region controller on a VirtualBox Ubuntu Server 18.04LTS on my computer in order to do a proof of concept.
But I’m having trouble finding the node that I’m testing with.
I want to know if someone could help me and sorry if I’m not very clear but it’s my first time in these forums.

I’m just commenting because I think what you’re doing is interesting.

By apu2c are you referring to these: https://pcengines.ch/apu2c4.htm?

That looks wicked cool.
Virtual Box is exactly how I started playing with MAAS.

• Have you checked that your MAAS controllers PXE interface is bridged to the physical network that the node is plugged into.
  • Have you configured your subnets and enabled DHCP on the rack controller?
  • Can your verify that when the node boots it’s first boot device is a PXE capable network card and that there’s no operating system on the primary hard drive

… I’m guessing this isn’t an x86 chipset?

1 Like

Hi, first of all, thanks for replying @dvnt.
Yes, it’s PC Engines apu2c I’m referring to.

Yes, I think I set up it well:

Node ifconfig and MAAS subnets.

I have DHCP enabled for the “fabric-0” 10.0.2.0/24 network

The node first boot is a PXE capable network but is has indeed on the Hard Disk a ubuntu server 18.04.

And after that it boots from the hard disk.
Sorry for this messy reply.

I’m wondering if using MAAS is going to be a non starter.
Those boards have an embedded G series AMD CPU with an architecture of puma?¿?.. Not really sure what these chips are :thinking:

From what I can see, available/supported architectures in MAAS are
amd64, arm64, armhf, i386, ppc64el, s390x.