MAAS changed a partition on a deployed machine?!

I’m trying to get MAAS to deploy Ubuntu to a 100G partition on /dev/sda.

First I used the MAAS CLI to do this before deploying the machine:

maas admin machine set-storage-layout fan6y8 storage_layout=flat root_size=100G

That gave the expected output and so I was disappointed that when I deployed the machine (via the UI), the root partition instead used the entire disk. So, I guess the above command doesn’t really work?

To get around that first issue, I then put the machine into “rescue” mode using the MAAS and re-sized both the filesystem and partition. I was careful to verify that this was successful.

I then exited “rescue” mode using the MAAS UI and booted up the machine.

To my surprise, the root partition was again using all space on the disk! Why would MAAS decide to resize a partition of a deployed machine?

I’m new to MAAS (somebody else set it up who’s no longer with the company), but about ready to give up on it.

Are these known bugs with the version of MAAS I’m using?:

MAAS version: 2.4.2 (7034-g2f5deb8b8-0ubuntu1)

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hi @spockdude,

MAAS never changes anything on a deployed machine. What you are observing is likely caused by cloud-init. See https://cloudinit.readthedocs.io/en/latest/topics/modules.html#growpart about how to disable this

TL;DR: growing the root partition to fill the disk is the default behavior. You can disable this with preseeding.

1 Like

@alexsander-souza, thanks for your reply! It was super helpful as I was starting to think I had entered the twighlight zone.

I’m looking to find a good tutorial on cloud-init preseeding. It looks like creating a file in /etc/maas/preseeds is probably the answer. But, I’m still searching for a clear example of what a preseed file would look like that disables both growroot and growpart in cloud-init. Or, an example of any type of cloud-init preseed file for MAAS.