Help request with deploying Ubuntu to HP DL380 G9

Dear Sirs,

thanks in advance for your help.

I am new to MaaS. I installed a rel 2.7 Rack+Region controller onto a VMware VM (snap install) to use as a self-training lab. At first i tried to deploy a new VM Ubuntu 18.04 connected to the same network as the MaaS server and it worked fine.

Now I am trying to deploy Ubuntu to a bare-metal HP DL380 G9 connected to a different network. So I first installed a second virtual rack controller to manage the new subnet and made it join the region controller. Also this part succeded.

Booting the ILO from the MaaS DHCP made it appears in the dashboard at first istance, but after a while I found it in the “Devices” tab.

I expected to have the server automatically enlisted as new in the “Machines” tab, but this did not happen. So I manually added it, using IPMI LAN 2.0 as power type, and ran the “Commissioning” phase.

The server booted and ended with the Ubuntu ephemeral image loaded, but none of the commissioning checks started. All of them remained pending until timeout.

I cannot tell where to start investigating why the commissioning does not complete? Is there someone who can give me some suggestions?

P.S.: I logged into the server and checked the /var/log/cloud-init.log and found this:

`2020-03-13 21:20:30,631 - main.py[DEBUG]: retrieving url 'http://192-168-61-0--24.maas-internal:5248/MAAS/metadata/latest/by-id/sxarfw/?op=get_preseed' failed: HTTPConnectionPool(host='192-168-61-0--24.maas-internal', port=5248): Max retries exceeded with url: /MAAS/metadata/latest/by-id/sxarfw/?op=get_preseed (Caused by NewConnectionError('<urllib3.connection.HTTPConnection object at 0x7ff693a79940>: Failed to establish a new connection: [Errno -3] Temporary failure in name resolution',))`

Verifying 192-168-61-0--24.maas-internal from the server shell it resolves with the IP of the proper rack controller.